“I Woke Up. A Heart Wrenching Sob Escaped as I Realized I had been Dreaming”

3-08-2011 Journal Entry

Today, I missed the call to work but I got another chance to work with the head of the prison ministries and I think I continue to impress him.
I went to the regular library and talked to the librarian about books on open office programming because yesterday I spent all of first hour attempting to figure out how to write/program the system so that it would better access the library information…but to no avail. Anyway, as I talked to the librarian, I made a mis-comment about “forgetting that I am no longer working with forward thinking, rational people”. I meant the DOC and their IT department, but she thought I was lumping her into it as well. Ah well, maybe I am not going to get a job there after all.
An amusing thing happened today. Mom and Dad sent in a box of books directly to the Spiritual Life Center, and as Brother Colorme started to open it, he noticed the return address and said “Why, Red, I think this might be for you”. In order to protect myself against claims that I had smuggled anything into the SLC, I refused to touch the box until Colorme went through it. The funny thing is that he seemed almost reluctant to touch it since it was full of Mormon stuff! He is always polite to me, but I suspect his skin crawls when my religion comes up.

3-9-2011 Journal Entry

I missed call to work again! I think this is becoming a habit!
After lunch we received new books to the library. One is a book about the 5 Browns, a 5 sibling piano group (teen aged) with a CD. One of the songs on the CD is the song I was married to. Hearing it rent my heart, but made me think too about if Grace would have the same reaction. She is so very un-sentimental that I imagine she would hardly recognize the song.
At Kairos tonight, I had the opportunity to share the gospel with my group. One seemed very interested and asked many serious questions. I can’t believe how good it felt to speak with conviction and actually believe what I was saying! It’s been so long since I actually believed in the gospel. I finished the evening by giving to him a Book of Mormon/Doctrine & Covenants and Pearl of Great Price. The only failure was that I didn’t think to bear my testimony.

3-10-2011 Journal Entry

I received 2 new books from mom; “Believing Christ” by Stephen Richardson and “The Brothers” by Chris Stewart. I can’t believe how much they paid for them! I feel guilty that they are spending so much money on me.
Again, work called and the bubble screwed it up. When I arrived at work for callouts, Yabib informed me that I could no longer attend Mennonite callout since I am listed as Mormon. It turns out the Mennonite callout lost all but 5 people (from 24!!) There were a lot of angry people. I got into it (politely) with Yabib about Mormon’s being Christian.
I heard the Beatles “Oh Girl” and I was reminded of Grace!

3-12-2011 Journal Entry

Last night I had a most realistic dream. The first part I recall made little sense as I was playing video games (Descent II) in my cell or in some sort of shared room environment. (I say that as my room mate’s bed was across the room rather than above mine). My room mate was getting angry with me about the sound. I attempted to turn it down but the game changed to be “Dora the Explorer” and the sound refused to lower. The next thing I recall is sitting in Grace’s living room (not one I have ever seen before and at first glance I would not have thought it was hers as it was spotless clean) and Tuesday and I were discussing his new school laptop. As we did, I asked Sunday if they had caught the final season of “Big Love”. Grace came in and admitted that they had not, but that she is buying each season (to go along with Season I which she had bought me our last birthdays together) as they became available. During this exchange, a woman walked in (without knocking) with Friday in tow (they left the door open—Grace calmly walked over and closed it). Friday plopped down on the opposite facing couch and began to sing (I don’t recall what). At first I thought she was Wednesday and I called out to her. She looked up at me and froze, staring. I realized my mistake in identity and called out to her as Friday. She wandered over and sat in my lap and just looked into my eyes. I said “It’s Daddy; do you remember me?” She slowly shook her head, still staring me in the eye…then slowly she leaned forward and kissed me. That’s when I woke up. A heart wrenching sob escaped as I realized I had been dreaming.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment