“The More I Learn of Other Faiths, The More I See LDS As The Only Church [That] Could Ever Suit Me.”

10-16-2010 Journal Entry

“McCleery stopped a dude I ate lunch with, after which the dude made the comment about “not caring why someone is down, only cares about respect given”. I translate that as McCleery is spreading rumors and the dude didn’t take the bait…good on Merari! He’s introduced me to people who do not pre-judge. Thanks be to God!”

10-17-2010 Letter to Dad

I thought I would take a moment to speak to you about Church. There are (including me) 3 Mormons and 1 investigator (I know!) But there is no call-out for the LDS (this is what they call any scheduled, sign-up “activity”) which means that we have no opportunity to get together for Gospel Doctrine or Sacrament Meeting—or the like. Prison policy is that 2 or more inmates or a faith make it eligible for a call-out, but ____ Branch doesn’t appear to be interested or able to send someone for us (there must be an outside person presiding).
“I know that I have told mom of my religious struggle and I hope that I have not led her to feel that I have given up, as truth be told, the more I learn of other faiths, the more I see LDS as the only one that is not self-serving hooey or attention grabbing…I really do hope to have a good LDS call-out. I don’t think any other church could ever suit me.
Anyway, what I am hoping is that there is something you, or your Bishop can do to help either _____ Branch or the Stake it is in to realize that there are men in need of regular Gospel Doctrine classes.
Also, since my home of records is your address, I suppose your Bishop is my spiritual leader (for the process of returning to the church—that’s a gimme, I truly miss it). So, these are my goals. Do I have to wait 18-20 years to be returned? How sad that will be, to be cut off for so long.”
Anyway, I am hoping that you can help things along here. I went to “non denominational prayers and worship this PM and, as always, found their way of worship both confusing and upsetting. I really need some stability; something familiar.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment